Medicinal Plants.


It’s truly interesting. I took up Plant Phylogeny last semester and managed to learn quite a number of plants (66 of them I think?). I went to campus library yesterday and found a book on Medicinal plants of Brunei Darussalam. I have seen two editions of this book while I volunteered at BARC (Medicinal Plant section). The book I have now with me is the second or rather the revised edition. It is a bit outdated now, this book was revised in the year 2000. It’s 2010 now. Hmms. Nevertheless, flipping through the pages, I came across some plants I have seen/learnt before and realised that they have medicinal values. I thought I shall share with you all.

ONE. Dillenia suffructicosa (DILLENIACEAE)

The local name for this species is SIMPUR. This is our national flower so I thought I shall start with this one. SIMPUR apparently is used to stop external bleeding where the twigs, calyx or the leaf-stalks are broken and its exudate is applied to wounds. Very interesting, no?

TWO. Nepenthes gracilis & N. rafflesiana (NEPENTHACEAE)

These are the pitcher plants. You usually can find them in poor sandy soil (say, in the heath forest). I have come across four species of pitcher plants so far in class field work. But anyway, when I looked at both the descriptions of these two species, I realised that a decoction of the roots could be used to regulate menstruation. Apparently the slightly sticky liquid of unopened pitchers is drunk during contraction to ease childbirth! Amazing!

THREE. Melastoma malabathricum (MELASTOMACEAE)

Another plant we often seen grown widely by the road side or even at home gardens, this plant has purple flowers. The decoction of the twigs and mixed with other herbs, this plant is used in baths after childbirth. The fresh petals can be used to accelerate healing of burn-wounds. Very helpful indeed! I have grown a hybrid of this sort in my garden but the flowers are darker purple and leaves are hairy. Have you ever seen one? =)

FOUR. Merremia borneensis (CONVOLVULACEAE)

I remembered visiting Prof one morning and asked him the name of this flower – yellow flowers that look like hibiscus but not hibiscus and looked like simpur but not simpur -this flower you can see imprinted on one of Brunei’s money notes (I forgot which one! =/ ). Well apparently, juice extracted from fresh fruits and flower buds of this species can be used to apply directly to the hair to improve its health! Truly interesting, yes? Guess that’s my solution to hair problems. haha.

FIVE. Mimosa pudica (LEGUMINOSAE)

You’ve definitely seen this around. Its local name is Rumput Malu. Yeah, the one where you touch its leaves and they close up. It is traditionally believed that a decoction of the roots when orally taken can relieve asthma and diarrhoea. Plant is believed to have tranquilizing, sedative and anti-inflammatory properties. Fascinating… My goodness, and here I am, always seen it being a weed, i plucked them off my garden… =D